How To: Natural Glow in the Winter

Earlier this Fall I set out to master a new everyday makeup routine that I could complete in less than 10 minutes. This simple makeup routine is full of subtle sparkle and brightening tricks – guaranteed to give you that natural glow!

img_0516

b.o.d.y. –  During the winter, Target Self Tanning lotion serves as my daily moisturizer (compare to Jergens Natural Glow), keeping my skin from drying out and adding subtle color – helping me hold on to that summer tan just a little bit longer. When I want a little more color, for example the day of a party, I’ll use Neutrogena Micro Mist. Color sprays on evenly and last for a couple of days! I use the Deep Intensity shade, but there are several lighter options for fairer skin or those who might be nervous about self tanning at home.

img_0531

f.a.c.e. – I’m a huge fan of Bare Minerals, so my everyday face routine includes many of their products. I start with Prime Time Primer, to even out my skin for a smooth and flawless base. Next, I apply Matte Powder Foundation all over. The next step is one of my favorite tricks for creating that natural glow! I apply Faux Tan Bronzer in the shape of a three – starting at my forehead, under my cheekbones and along the chin line. Then, I add Blush in Vintage Peach and finish with Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick, swiping just across the tops of my cheekbones and above the eyebrows.

img_0551

IMG_0559.JPG

e.y.e.s. – For a natural glow, I like to use various shades of gold eye shadow. This eyeshadow trio from LORAC is a fool proof way to get my look, but you can also use any eye shadow palette you might already have on hand, but keep in mind the following – apply lightest shade all over lid and brow bone, apply medium shade to eyelid, and lastly, apply darkest shade to crease of eyelid to create a look with depth and definition. Finish with a few coats of mascara. I use Maybelline Great Lash Waterproof Mascara on upper and lower lashes and apply a second coat to top lashes using YSL Babydoll Mascara for extra definition and volume.

img_0573

l.i.p.s. – As most of you know, I’m partial to a bold red lip around the holidays, but to complete this natural glow look, I opted instead for a neutral shade of lipstick. I first lined my lips, which helps color stay in place and last all day, and then applied Loreal Fairest Nude Lipstick.

img_0680

Leave a Reply

